Stigma becomes personal

I’m normally very open about having a mental illness. In fact, I like to talk about it, I see it as part of being a mental health advocate. And who doesn’t like talking about themselves? I normally feel this way in spite of thew stigma of mental illness, indeed because of the stigma of mental illness. Showing that a normal-seeming guy like me has a mental illness and is merely an ordinary person with a chronic illness seems a good thing. But the other day, I found myself feeling uncomfortable about telling someone I had a mental illness.

My wife and I were having a discussion with a government employee, a government employee in a position of power, who can make decisions that have a huge impact on our family. Out of the blue, she asked what my disability was. Is that legal? I don’t think so.

Read more at: http://www.buchanan1.net/blog-26AU15.html

Leave a Reply

