What’s So Offensive about “I am Bipolar”?

Read Gabe Howard’s linked post as well!

Bipolar First Bipolar Together

This is a hot topic in our community.  I have wanted to write a post about it but I came across this article on the magical thing that is this Twitter and I thought…

oh good now I don’t have to do that.

HA

I believe that part of the reason that

I AM Bipolar rubs us the wrong way is because

society views Bipolar as a

BAD

thing

.

In a sense there is stigma attached to it.

.

People don’t really seem to flinch when they use other adjectives like

I am diabetic I am asthmatic etc

Those aren’t considered to be bad

Maybe because they aren’t considered to be a character defect by some.

And I don’t think the people who use the other terms

feel like in using them that they are saying that they are now

ALL asthmatic

that asthma is now who they are

View original post 172 more words

Leave a Reply

